FORUM FOR ANTHROPOLOGY AND CULTURE

ANTROPOLOGICHESKIJ FORUM
RUS | ENG

Antropologicheskij forum, 2020, no. 45

 

LOOKING FOR “THE BIBLE”: A Review of FLORENTINA BADALANOVA GELLER, KNIGA SUSHCHAYA V USTAKH: FOLKLORNAYA BIBLIYA BESSARABSKIKH I TAVRICHESKIKH BOLGAR [THE BOOK THAT EXISTS IN THE MOUTHS: THE FOLK BIBLE OF THE BESSARABIAN AND TAURIDE BULGARIANS]. Moscow: Russkiy fond sodeystviya obrazovaniyu i nauke, 2017, 864 pp., 183 ill.

Dmitriy Antonov

Russian State University for the Humanities
6 Miusskaya Sq., Moscow, Russia
The Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration
82 Vernadskogo Av., Moscow, Russia
antonov-dmitriy()list.ru

Abstract: This review is dedicated to Florentina Badalanova Geller’s The Book That Exists in the Mouths: The Folk Bible of the Bessarabian and Tauride Bulgarians. Considering the extensive materials published in the monograph, the reviewer analyzes the criteria of selection of folklore material, which forms, according to Badalanova Geller, an “oral Bible”. The review considers the problems that arise in the process of constructing the “folk Bible” as a corpus of motives. The boundaries of this corpus seem to be problematic, since researchers are inclined to include not only biblical narratives, but also texts that are based on folk motives without direct links to the Bible. On a number of examples, the reviewer also demonstrates the interaction between written, verbal (folklore) and visual sources. This topic has become especially relevant thanks to the publication of extensive visual material—Badalanova Geller included 183 pictures in the book, most of which are historical Bulgarian church images illustrating the biblical motifs that are mentioned in the published folklore texts.

Keywords: “The folklore Bible”, Bulgarian folklore, iconography, booklore.

To cite: Antonov D., ‘Looking for “the Bible”: A Review of Florentina Badalanova Geller, Kniga sushchaya v ustakh: folklornaya Bibliya bessarabskikh i tavricheskikh bolgar [The Book That Exists in the Mouths: The Folk Bible of the Bessarabian and Tauride Bulgarians]. Moscow: Russkiy fond sodeystviya obrazovaniyu i nauke, 2017, 864 pp., 183 ill.’, Antropologicheskij forum, 2020, no. 45, pp. 241–252.

doi: 10.31250/1815-8870-2020-16-45-241-252

URL: http://anthropologie.kunstkamera.ru/files/pdf/045/antonov.pdf

АНТРОПОЛОГИЧЕСКИЙ ФОРУМ

FORUM FOR ANTHROPOLOGY AND CULTURE
RUS | ENG

Антропологический форум. 2020. №45

 

В ПОИСКАХ «БИБЛИИ»: Рец. на кн.: ФЛОРЕНТИНА БАДАЛАНОВА ГЕЛЛЕР. КНИГА СУЩАЯ В УСТАХ: ФОЛЬКЛОРНАЯ БИБЛИЯ БЕССАРАБСКИХ И ТАВРИЧЕСКИХ БОЛГАР. М.: Русский фонд содействия образованию и науке, 2017. 864 с., 183 ил.

Дмитрий Игоревич Антонов

Российский государственный гуманитарный университет
6 Миусская пл., Москва, Россия
Российская академия народного хозяйства и государственной службы при Президенте РФ
82 пр. Вернадского, Москва, Россия
antonov-dmitriy()list.ru

Аннотация: Рецензия посвящена книге Ф. Бадалановой Геллер «Книга сущая в устах: фольклорная Библия бессарабских и таврических болгар». Рассматривая обширный корпус текстов, опубликованных в монографии, автор рецензии анализирует принципы отбора фольклорного материала, который формирует, по мнению Бадалановой Геллер, «устную Библию». В рецензии рассмотрены проблемы, неизбежно возникающие на пути конструирования «фольклорной Библии» как единого корпуса мотивов. Границы и очертания этого корпуса оказываются дискуссионной областью, так как исследователи исходя из разных предпосылок склонны относить к нему не только (около)библейские нарративы, но и тексты, основанные на небиблейской фольклорной топике. Кроме того, в рецензии на ряде упомянутых в книге примеров проанализировано взаимодействие книжных, устных и визуальных текстов. Эта проблематика, важная при анализе любых кочующих христианских сюжетов, актуализирована в книге Бадалановой Геллер благодаря публикации обширного визуального материала, 183 изображений, большинство из которых — исторические болгарские храмовые образы, иллюстрирующие библейские мотивы.

Ключевые слова: «Фольклорная Библия», болгарский фольклор, иконография, книжность.

Для ссылок: Антонов Д. В поисках «Библии»: Рец. на кн.: Флорентина Бадаланова Геллер. Книга сущая в устах: фольклорная Библия бессарабских и таврических болгар. М.: Русский фонд содействия образованию и науке, 2017. 864 с., 183 ил. // Антропологический форум. 2020. № 45. С. 241–252.

doi: 10.31250/1815-8870-2020-16-45-241-252

URL: http://anthropologie.kunstkamera.ru/files/pdf/045/antonov.pdf