FORUM FOR ANTHROPOLOGY AND CULTURE

ANTROPOLOGICHESKIJ FORUM
RUS | ENG

Antropologicheskij forum, 2020, no. 46

 

“I THOUGHT THAT COMING TO RUSSIA WAS A KIND OF CRIME”: UNDOCUMENTED LABOR MIGRANTS FROM GEORGIA IN THE SPACE OF LEGAL UNCERTAINTY

Evgenia Zakharova

Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (Kunstkamera), Russian Academy of Sciences
3 Universitetskaya Emb., St Petersburg, Russia
evgenics()gmail.com

Abstract: The article was prepared as part of a study of Georgian migration to large cities in Russia, which focuses primarily on Georgian “ethnic” business. The author addresses the question of how undocumentedness and deportability affect the organization of daily life and life strategies of new labor migrants from Georgia, and how these influence their working conditions and relationship with entrepreneurs who make use of their labor. In other words, what does it mean to live in the space of legal uncertainty? This research task determines the wording of the next question about the migrants’ perception of their legal status, the level of legality in Russia and the host state as such. The article also considers a natural aspect of undocumentedness — the legalization practices of Georgian labor migrants. The author concludes that Georgian labor migrants experience virtually all dimensions of “imposed non-existence”: the transformation of ordinary actions, such as work or traveling — due to a combination of various kinds of ineligibility — into illicit ones, restrictions of physical as well as social mobility. Migrant workers from Georgia perceive their situation as exceptional from a legal point of view; their undocumentedness creates a feeling of isolation and imposed invisibility. On the other hand, most of their life in Russia involves efforts to maintain their invisibility to the Russian state. At the same time, the presence of the state is clearly manifested in many aspects of their everyday life.

Keywords: labor migrants, Georgia, restaurant business, legal uncertainty, undocumentedness, deportability, legalization, perception of the state.

Acknowledgements: The article was prepared as part of the project “Transnational and Translocal Aspects of Migration in Modern Russia”, no. 14-18-02149-П, carried out at the European University at St Petersburg.

To cite: Zakharova E., ‘“Ya dumal, priekhat v Rossiyu — eto kakoe-to prestuplenie”: nedokumentirovannye trudovye migranty iz Gruzii v prostranstve pravovoy neopredelennosti’ [“I Thought That Coming to Russia Was a Kind of Crime”: Undocumented Labor Migrants from Georgia in the Space of Legal Uncertainty], Antropologicheskij forum, 2020, no. 46, pp. 155–187.

doi: 10.31250/1815-8870-2020-16-46-155-187

URL: http://anthropologie.kunstkamera.ru/files/pdf/046/zakharova.pdf

АНТРОПОЛОГИЧЕСКИЙ ФОРУМ

FORUM FOR ANTHROPOLOGY AND CULTURE
RUS | ENG

Антропологический форум. 2020. №46

 

«Я ДУМАЛ, ПРИЕХАТЬ В РОССИЮ — ЭТО КАКОЕ-ТО ПРЕСТУПЛЕНИЕ»: НЕДОКУМЕНТИРОВАННЫЕ ТРУДОВЫЕ МИГРАНТЫ ИЗ ГРУЗИИ В ПРОСТРАНСТВЕ ПРАВОВОЙ НЕОПРЕДЕЛЕННОСТИ

Евгения Юрьевна Захарова

Музей антропологии и этнографии (Кунсткамера) РАН
3 Университетская наб., Санкт-Петербург, Россия
evgenics()gmail.com

Аннотация: Статья выполнена в рамках исследования грузинской миграции в Россию, сосредоточенного преимущественно на «этническом» бизнесе в крупных городах. Автор задается вопросом, как недокументированность (undocumentedness) и депортируемость (deportability) влияют на организацию повседневной жизни и выстраивание жизненных стратегий новых трудовых мигрантов из Грузии, а также на условия их труда и взаимоотношения с работодателями, иными словами, что собой представляет жизнь в пространстве правовой неопределенности. Этот исследовательский вопрос определяет формулировку следующего — о восприятии мигрантами своего правового статуса, уровня законности в России и ее как таковой в качестве принимающего государства. В статье также рассматривается естественный аспект недокументированности — легализационные практики грузинских трудовых мигрантов. Автор приходит к выводу, что вследствие комбинации разного рода неправомочностей грузинские трудовые мигранты испытывают фактически все трудности «навязанного несуществования»: трансформацию обычных практик, таких как работа или передвижение, в скрытые, ограничение физической и социальной мобильности. Свое положение мигранты воспринимают как исключительное с правовой точки зрения, недокументированность создает у них ощущение изолированности и навязанной невидимости. Притом что жизнь в России требует от мигрантов усилий по поддержанию своей невидимости для российского государства, его присутствие остро проявляется во многих аспектах их повседневности.

Ключевые слова: трудовые мигранты, Грузия, ресторанный бизнес, правовая неопределенность, недокументированность, депортируемость, легализация, восприятие государства.

Благодарности: Статья подготовлена в рамках проекта Российского научного фонда «Транснациональные и транслокальные аспекты миграции в современной России», № 14-18-02149-П, выполнявшегося при Европейском университете в Санкт-Петербурге.

Для ссылок: Захарова Е. «Я думал, приехать в Россию — это какое-то преступление»: недокументированные трудовые мигранты из Грузии в пространстве правовой неопределенности // Антропологический форум. 2020. № 46. С. 155–187.

doi: 10.31250/1815-8870-2020-16-46-155-187

URL: http://anthropologie.kunstkamera.ru/files/pdf/046/zakharova.pdf